Rohingya Refugees Issue

ASEAN Formation (Association of Southeast Asian Nations)


Basically, the failure that occurred on ASA or the Association of Southeast Asia, established in 1961, which consists of the Federation of Malaya, Thailand and the Philippines have been deadlocked after prevailing discord and dissension among the member countries such as the Philippines' claim on Sabah who have participated in Malaysia establishment in 1963. In 1963, a further establishment of MAPHILINDO given name stands for Malaysia, Philipines and Indonesia was established. However, these organizations also failed because the Indonesian confrontation against Malaysia. Therefore, these failures have strengthened their determination to establish another organization in developing cooperation between countries.


Various factors that occurred has resulted in ASEAN establisment. ASEAN or the Association of Southeast Asian Nations is a geo-political and economic organisation situation from the countries in Southeast Asia that was established on August 8, 1967 held in Bangkok, Thailand. Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand are five countries that have established ASEAN through the ASEAN declaration also referred to as the Bangkok Declaration. The Bangkok Declaration was signed by Adam Malik, who is Indonesian Foreign Minister, Tun Abdul Razak, the then Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia, Narcisco Ramos as Philippine Foreign Secretary, S. Rajaratnam of Singapore and Thanat Khoman as Foreign Minister of Thailand at the time. Later joined by Brunei Darussalam on 7 January 1984, Vietnam


Publisher: BookRix GmbH & Co. KG

Publication Date: 04-14-2015
ISBN: 978-3-7368-8946-0

All Rights Reserved

Next Page
Page 1 /